Mirrors and Windows

Picture from Sora.

Some books are mirrors and some are windows. The book I am writing about today is a graphic novel called Sweet Valley Twins by Francine Pascal. Sweet Valley Twins is both a mirror and window book. You might be wondering how books can be windows and mirrors. A window book is a story that introduces you to something new or different from your experiences and/or lifestyle. A mirror book is a story that you can relate to or you share something in common with. The book Sweet Valley Twins is about two middle school girls who are identical twins and live in New York. But even though they look identical they have very different personalities. One twin is named Elizabeth Wakefield. She is very quiet, shy, and wants to write in the school newspaper. The other twin is named Jessica Wakefield. She is outgoing and sometimes a little bossy. Jessica really wants to join an exclusive club called the Unicorn Club. The Unicorn Club is a group of popular girls who love to gossip and play tricks. The twins are amazed when they realize they are more different than they thought. Throughout the book they go on an incredible journey finding their own personalities, styles, interests, and their paths in life. Francine Pascal also added in a mix of romance, drama, bullies, and friendship.

This book mirrors me and my life experiences because I am a girl going through the tough journey of middle school. And it is inevitable that there is drama in middle school. Even though there are some kids who go out of their way to be mean, I have a bunch of friends who support me, make me laugh, and brighten my day. But this is not only a mirror book, it is also a window book! Sweet Valley Twins is a window for me because unfortunately I am not an identical twin or even a twin at all. Another reason that Sweet Valley Twins is a window for me is because they live in a whole different state than me. They live in New York while I live in North Carolina.

One reason I chose to read this book is because I love books, stories, movies, and anything involving twins. I am interested in twins because I love tricks, riddles, escape rooms, friendship, and mischief. This relates to identical twins because if I was an identical twin I would do all kinds of tricks with her. Another reason I like twins is because a twin is a built in friend, someone you can trust and tell them anything but still know they will love you forever no matter what. Twins have such a special bond that not even BFF’s can have. Most books I read are fiction which makes most of them windows. I hope this makes you want to read Sweet Valley Twins. If you have any suggestions for books about twins or any book that you like that’s fiction I would love it if you left the name of the book in the comments!

30maddyg

2 Comments

  1. Great post! I enjoyed learning about mirrors and windows. I had never heard it expressed that way. Also, I love that your friends “brighten my day.” And while you don’t have a twin, you do have two awesome siblings! Lastly, one book suggestion (with twins) would be “The Parent Trap.” Thanks!

  2. This is great. I am so excited to learn more off what you like. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *